The „Treaty between the Government of the Republic of Uzbekistan and the Government of the United States of America for the Promotion and Mutual Protection of Investments“ was signed on 16 December 1994 in Washington, D.C. and ratified shortly thereafter by the Uzbek Parliament. However, the U.S. government did not act to make this agreement come into force. In 2004, Uzbekistan has signed the Regional Framework Agreement on Trade Investment (TIFA) with the office of the US Trade Representative and four of its Central Asian neighbours, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan Parties to mutual trade will apply to discriminatory measures to introduce quantitative restrictions or measures equivalent to exporting and/or introducing goods. Parties may unilaterally impose quantitative restrictions or other specific restrictions, but only in a reasonable and strict manner for certain deadlines. These restrictions are exclusive and can only be applied in cases under the GATT/WTO agreements. The parties do not apply customs duties, taxes and taxes with equivalent measures, with the exception of customs clearance duties and quantitative restrictions on the export and/or import of goods originating from the customs territory of one of the contracting parties and destined for the customs area of the State of the other contracting party. The derogations from this trade regime, in accordance with the approved goods nomenclature, are established by the protocol that is an integral part of this agreement. The parties will provide regular information on internal rules governing external economic relations, including trade, investment, tax, banking and insurance and other services, transport and customs issues, including customs statistics on contracting parties. The free trade agreement proposed by the Commonwealth of Independent States since the disintegration of the Soviet Union in 1991 was signed on 18 October 2011 by Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Moldova and Armenia. [1] The agreement replaces existing bilateral and multilateral free trade agreements between countries. The treaty was originally ratified only by Russia, Belarus and Ukraine[3] [3], but by the end of 2012 Kazakhstan, Armenia and Moldova had also completed ratification.

[4] [5] In December 2013, Uzbekistan signed and ratified the treaty[6] [7], while the other two signatories, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan, ratified the treaty in January 2014 and December 2015, respectively. [8] [9] Azerbaijan is the only CIS member state not to participate in the free trade area.